First Day of High School

I don’t know if my first day of high school was particularly bad, or if time has exaggerated it in my mind.

People kept asking me if I was related to other white kids at the school.

Going down a flight of stairs, my backpack got caught on someone else’s backpack and I was dragged back to the top and then cussed at for slowing him down.

Got pushed down the stairs by a midget.

Spanish class was actually in Spanish.

I got 3rd chair on the first day of band (which would be a point of pride, except that it immediately made me the enemy of all the seniors below my placement).

I had no friends.

Logical response to this not-really-that-bad first day of school? Transfer. Stories of the new, super-conservative Christian school to come.

Leave a Reply

