My (not) First day of 6th Grade

My younger sister started 6th grade the same year I started college. She was moving up from elementary school to middle school and I went with her and my mother to her new campus for parent/teacher night. Without fail, every teacher addressed me as the new student and not my sister.

“Hi! What’s you’re name? I’m excited that you will be in my class this year!”

“Sorry, I’m starting college this year. My sister is your student.”

“Oh! You look so young!”

6 years and 7 grades younger, to be exact.

To their credit, this is me at 17. I’m 4’11” and not very…bumpy. But really? 6th grade?

 

Leave a Reply

